Winfield hockey player gets Select 16 invite

They don’t have a hockey team at Winfield High School.

 

But that hasn’t stopped freshman Tanner Withrow from pursuing his passion for a sport that isn’t widely known in West Virginia.tanner-withrow

 

Despite the odds of having a hockey prospect from Putnam County, the 15-year old is excelling at the sport by playing on various club teams and leagues. He recently received an invitation to represent the state of West Virginia at the 2009 Mid American District, Select 16 tryouts. He will turn 16 on July 21.

 

Select is a program by USA Hockey that seeks the best talent each year.

 

At the Select camp held May 1-3 in Sylvania, Ohio, a team will be chosen to represent the district to play in a National Developmental Camp at a USA Hockey Festival in Rochester, N.Y.

 

The players at the National Developmental Camp will represent the top one percent of the 16-year olds in the country. 

 

The Mid American district is comprised from five states – West Virginia, Ohio, Kentucky, Pennsylvania and Indiana. Coaches from the district sent in their nominations representing the top five percent of the players they’ve seen play.

 

“It was great to get that invitation,” Withrow admitted. “I was real excited when I opened the letter. I was immediately pumped up and ready to go for it. I want to show them what I’ve got.”

 

“It’s a pretty big honor,” said Elgine McArdle, State Vice President of the Mid-American Hockey Association. “It’s commendable because the coaches have to recognize you not only as a player but as a sportsman. To make the cuts is an even greater honor on down the line.”

 

Withrow’s exposure to hockey came at a very early age.

 

“I was about four or five years old,” he said. “My family and I went to Huntington to see the Blizzard games. We were the host family for one of the players – Kevin Paden. He really got me started into playing ice hockey. He played with me at the house. I just got to enjoy it and I’ve always played hockey.”

 

Huntington had a minor league hockey team playing in the East Coast Hockey League from 1993-2000.

 

Unlike traditional sports played locally, hockey in West Virginia requires an extreme amount of commitment – from the participant and from moms and dads.

 

“My parents have been there through thick and thin for me,” Withrow said. “We’ve traveled to Ohio, Indiana, Pennsylvania – all over. No matter what the score is, they’re there for the whole game.

 

“I’ve played other sports and I thought I would be interested but it just turned out that hockey is the only sport for me.”

 

Withrow took to the ice quite naturally from the get-go.

 

“I had to work at it, especially at first,” he said. “But it didn’t take me very long. You have to have your balance and skate fast. It’s a lot different than just going around free skating.”

 

 

“I play a season and I try to go to some camps. I try to keep playing throughout the year. Any game that you can get is great. You have to play against good competition to get better.”

 

Hockey could open some additional doors down the road for Withrow, who is already an exceptional student at Winfield with straight A’s.

 

“I’m planning on going to college,” he said. “I definitely want to play hockey there. If I don’t get a scholarship, I’ll still try to walk on with the team. Hopefully I’ll make it to the NHL [National Hockey League]. That’s my top goal. We’ll see.

 

“I watch some NHL games because there’s not a lot of college hockey on television. But when the college tournament is on, I watch a couple of games. This year Boston University beat my team, Miami (Oh.) University in the finals.”

Playing for the Miami RedHawks would be a dream come true Withrow claims.

 

“I’ve been to a couple of their games. That’s where I’m planning on going if I can.”

 

Withrow is hoping that hockey will continue to grow in West Virginia, especially among its youth. 

 

“It’s coming around,” he said. “We’re starting to see some more kids sign up. Hopefully it will get going around here more in the near future. The kids that are just starting out are doing great. Hopefully they’ll stick with it until they’re my age.”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment